EGREM Awarded Honor Prize at Cubadisco 2009

The prize-giving ceremony was held Saturday night at Havana's Karl Marx theatre.

The longest-running Cuban record company, EGREM is this year celebrating its 45th anniversary, marked on March 31st. It was competing for this year's Cubadisco Awards, with nominees in 32 out of the event's 40 categories.

Nineteen of the company's productions actually won the coveted prize, which speaks for itself about EGREM's excellent work, particularly the improved image of its products and the creative activity of its professionals.

EGREM has offices in almost all Cuban provinces and treasures the largest number of unpublished audio masters on the island (10 thousand), covering rhythms like Rumba, Cha-cha-cha, Guaracha, Danzon, Mambo, Son, Bolero, Classic music, Salsa, Rock and Fusion.

It operates several labels. The EGREM label has released 530 CDs; Auténtico EGREM, 40; Siboney EGREM, 26 and Promusic S.A., 16.

EGREM also has five recording studios: two at AREITO, here in Havana and a recently inaugurated studio with acoustics and design by the English firm Audio Eastlake LTD.

It also operates the label Siboney in eastern Santiago de Cuba province and a mobile studio for on-the-spot recordings by the label Auténtico EGREM.

The long list of renowned Cuban and foreign figures who have recorded with EGREM include Nat King Cole, Josephine Baker, Silvio Rodríguez, Pablo Milanés, Chucho Valdés, Sonia Silvestre, Soledad Bravo, Vicente Garrido, Susana Bacca, Roy Brown, Ry Cooder, Miguelito Valdés and the members of the legendary Cuban music band 'Buena Vista Social Club'.

The International Fair Cubadisco — the top event of its kind here in Cuba– is this year dedicated to Puerto Rico, the Music from the South (Third World countries) and the relationship between music and children.

In that sense, Cubadisco Honor Awards were presented also to several Cuban and foreign artists. They are Puerto Rican singers Danny Rivera and Roy Brown; Havana's Historian Eusebio Leal; National Literature Prize laureate Graciela Pogolotti; composer Roberto Valera; Carlos A. Cremata, director of the Children's Theatre Company La Colmenita; cartoonist Juan Padrón; filmmaker Tulio Raggi and singer-songwriters Liuba María Hevia, Rosa Campos and Teresita Fernández.

More details of CubaDisco 2009